Entries now open for our annual open mic competition

In recent years, Leigh Folk Festival’s Open Mic “competition” has developed into a prestigious event attracting a myriad cross-section of musical genres whilst, at the same time, effortlessly bridging the generation gap.
The peaceful sobriety and acoustic resonance of Leigh’s 600 year old church of St. Clement, the patron saint of fishermen, is both a spectacular and ideal venue. Passing visitors can muse a while, enjoy a free ad-hoc concert while sampling the scrumptious home-made tea and cakes gleefully served-up by the hospitable band of church helpers.
The following significant off-shoots have become established features of the festival’s Open Mic event:


The winner is awarded a “spot” on one of the Festival stages on Sunday in the buzzing and historical setting of the Old Town’s cockling village.

Previous finalists have been invited by the Hoy at Anchor, the town’s premier folk club, to headline one of the folk club’s evening sessions during the year.

Numerous acts who impress at the Open Mic continue to be approached by the LFF organisers to appear at the following year’s festival in their own right.



This Years Event

There are 16 available slots for this year’s Open Mic competition which will take place at St. Clement’s Church on Saturday, June 25th from 12.00-4.30 pm. Registration takes place at the church between 12.00-12.15 pm.
Entrants perform two numbers of any musical genre ( covers and/or original material ) to a panel of judges.


Four acts will be selected by the judges to perform a third number of their choice in the Final.


One act is selected as the winner
To book a slot please contact Mickie D on 07741 738 915 or email mickied@uwclub.net

Previous Winners

2015: Winner: Joe Hazell Finalists: Si Brandon, Rachael Hack, Louise & Mick,
2014: Winner: The Folkwitz Finalists: Ellen Taylor, Colette Meury, Simon Brandon
2013: Winner: Rob the Liar Finalists: Gemma Khawaja, Daniel Nestlerode, Will Allen
2012: Winner: Annie Winter Finalists: Amy Sergeant, Nick Renton, Nestlerode
2011: No Competition
2010: Joint-winners: Fiddle Fit, Moose Finalists: Bluebell Wood, Joe Midgal
2009: Joint-winners: Beth & Daisy, Nick Renton Finalists: Reb Capper, Kelly & Mick Knightsbridge
2008: Joint-Winners: Sinead Orme, Mark Waterfield Finalists: Cliff Chapman, Mick Denny


No Comments

Post a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.